Korean in Saskatoon

by Girl

Perhaps one of the reasons that I haven’t enjoyed Saskatoon is that I haven’t connected with any of my people, so it is not my home. Once in a while, I get a craving for something familiar, something that reminds me of home. There are no decent Korean restaurants other than Koryo in Midtown plaza. So whenever I wanted Korean food, I would have to cook it – and that’s what I did tonight.

Meet soon dubu jji gae, a.k.a. soft tofu stew.

DSC03883

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of beef broth + 1 cup of water
  • 1 medium onion, cut in half and lengthwise
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 3/4 cup sliced dried shiitake mushrooms
  • 100 grams of beef (stirfry or rouladen kind), cut into strips
  • 1 1/2 cups mixed seafood medly
  • 3 tablespoons hot pepper flakes
  • 1 container of soon dubu (a.k.a. soft tofu), cut into manageable pieces (just to put into the pot…they will break easily anyways)
  • 3 green onions, cut to medium size pieces (3.5 cm in length)
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons of fish sauce
  • 1 egg
  1. In a large pot, mix beef broth, water, onion, garlic, and mushrooms. Bring to boil.
  2. Add beef strips into the pot. Simmer for about 10 minutes.
  3. Add the seafood medly (frozen is okay). Simmer for another 10 minutes.
  4. Add the hot pepper flakes. Bring to boil for 2 minutes.
  5. Add the soon dubu (soft tofu), green onions, and fish sauce. Crack an egg and stir to break it up. Simmer for another 3 minutes.
  6. Drizzle some sesame oil before serving.

It’s actually really good! Just like my mom used to make…it does have lots of seafood though, so if you want it less seafood-y, put about 1 cup only. It’s easier to make than it sounds. Serve with white steamed rice. The times are just recommendations – roll with it!

