Autumn in Full Throttle

by Girl

Here are some signs that are screaming “AUTUMN” in my face:

  • Leaves covering the sidewalks and lawns
  • Starbucks pumpkin spice latté & caramel apple spice cravings
  • No more salad cravings 😦
  • No more Indian summers. I am not sure how I feel about that.
  • A growing squash section at Sobey’s
  • Chicken pot pie: I made it tonight but it was a failure. The pie shell was broken and contents did not hold together properly…it tasted alright but not my usual standard. :

And tonight’s special: Tea-poached pears.

DSC03878

  • 4 Bosc pears, peeled, cored, and halved – I picked pretty soft brown ones because I like my poached pears s-o-f-t.
  • 8 cups of water boiling in a huge pot
  • 4 tea bags – I steeped 3 Red Rose bags and 1 Chai tea bag over simmering water.
  • 2 cups of sugar – I dissolved it in after 5 minutes of tea-steeping (after removing the tea bags).
  • I simmered the pears until they were soft to my liking.

I have had two halves and so far there is no allergic reaction! 😀 I hope you are having a lovely autumn evening.

