With a bit more effort…

by Girl

I once wrote an essay on effortful behaviour for a third-year psychology course. After getting a B+, I asked the TA what I should do differently next time to improve my mark. She took her time to go over her suggestions and at the end, said jokingly that maybe I should put more effort into it next time.

There are a few things that I am not good at that I should work on.

1) Keeping up with my hobbies.
I take interest in many things but that leaves with little time to indulge in each hobby. So I dabble. I know the basics of knitting, cross-stitching, jewellery-making and paper crafts. I know how to play musical instruments and once upon a time, invested a lot of time into practicing them. I like baking and cooking but it comes and goes. I have a list of books I would like to get to but I still need to finish my current book and take a break (I can’t jump straight into a new book because I need to get over the old book). My dad told me once that the biggest compliment I could get is to be needed in everything I do. So I want to work on keeping up with my hobbies a bit better so whenever someone needs advice on crafting, playing musical instruments, baking, cooking, or reading, they will think of me.

2) Keeping in shape.
I feel like this is the best shape that I have ever been in, perhaps other than when I used to do kendo three times a week. But with some changes in days ahead, I hope I can keep up with my fitness level that I have reached thus far. Even if I don’t have my gym membership, I should be able to work out at home or go for a run…nah, I hate running, especially when it is cold out. I am thinking of restarting my workout and nutrition log because writing down what I ate and what I did for exercise worked well to keep me accountable.

3) Keeping in touch.
I am not very good at keeping in touch. I forget that I have friends that I haven’t spoken to in a while. I realize that it’s a two-way street and I have to do my part to keep in touch, which might mean messaging them online once in a while or more often. The fear of them not reciprocating shouldn’t get in the way. I could save lots of time by messaging people, finding out who appreciates my attention and developing those friendships, rather than being in a standstill.

I’m trying to be realistic so I’ll keep it at three doable goals: 1) keeping up with my hobbies; 2) keeping in shape, and; 3) keeping in touch.

