Less than 2 months!

by Girl

I have only 56 days to go until I go home! 😀

While I can’t believe a year has already passed since I arrived in this town called Saskatoon, it was not the best year of my life. Before coming here, I was worried about everything but logistics like living situation and job prospects. Will there be good diversity of culture, will there be great food, will there be fun festivals, will there be fun things to do, will people be friendly, will I have a good time? Ha!

Shawn, who is a born and bred Prairie boy from Saskatoon (although he hates it when I point it out), did his best to reassure me that I will like Saskatoon. But very soon upon our arrival, his rosy glasses came off. Going away and living in the world outside of your fishbowl will do that to you. Things he remembered being good/great weren’t so good/great anymore. I was very disappointed day after day, although I did come across some things to keep me sane. One of those things was spin classes in November. How sad is it that I was excited for spin classes to get me through the days here?! All in all, I still have to say that Saskatoon is not my favourite city. I wouldn’t ever consider living here again. Maybe just visit.

On the upside: I am a better cook/baker than I was a year ago, I can pole dance, and I like Saskatoon berries.

Oh, Toronto, I love you and miss you. I can’t wait to go home and eat a halibut burrito at Burrito Boyz, authentic all-you-can-eat Korean BBQ at Seoul Garden, a big juicy beef shawarma at that sketchy place on Lawrence St. East, and raid all the decent sushi restaurants. I actually have friends there that I can have a good time with. I am looking forward to decent dance instructions and amazing festivals (too bad I will be missing Nuit Blanche…) November 16th can’t come soon enough…!

