Spinning the Wool

by Girl

I’ve started a new hobby – knitting! Hence the name of the post, although it’s more like “knitting the yarn” but that sounds even more awkward than “spinning the wool”. It was Etsy that did it, with its pictures of pretty gloves, hats, and little trinkets made from knitting. And people selling knitting patterns…including clothes for dogs! Since Skylar started wearing t-shirts and sweaters, I thought maybe if I learned to knit, I could make him a nice outfit before I leave.

I found a super helpful website called KnittingHelp.com that has a wealth of information and is well presented. It’s a good place to start and I made my first few techniques and swatches using help from this website. I highly recommend it to beginners. I am now working on a Paw Print Cloth:

It looked simple enough to be my first project. I’ve only done about 10 rows but I am exhausted. There are already bumps and knots in it, but I’m telling myself that it’s okay because it’s for practice. I will work on it and hopefully get the hang of knitting soon!

