Food bloggers unite!

by Girl

I read two food blogs on a daily basis – Carrots ‘N’ Cake, and Kath Eats Real Food. The writers of these blogs along with a few others planned a Healthy Living Summit in Boston. It’s a meeting for food bloggers and those who read them. I am currently watching it live online but they are talking about blogging technicalities (getting readers, making money, etc.) right now, which isn’t something I am interested in.

In the spirit of food blogs, here is what I made the other day: Pork suimei, Korean dumplings, and boochujeon.

DSC03718

I got both suimei and dumplings from Eastern Market in Saskatoon, which is a decent Asian supermarket. One negative would be that there are not enough fresh produce – although I did find boochu (Asian chives) to make the boochujeon. Suimei and dumplings are steamed in a bamboo steamer and they were not so good at all…they tasted pretty old and freezer-burned – yuck!! The boochujeon was pretty good and reminded me a bit of home. My recipe for boochujeon is similar to the one Maangchi‘s but without squid or scallops.

I am getting ready to go for coffee at Lawson Heights with the Websters and friends. It’s a dreary rainy day and I missed my chance to go to Zumba class at ClubMynx but it could still be a good day!

